How to Remove Your Google and Yahoo Search History

How to Remove Your Google and Yahoo Search History

How to Remove Your Google and Yahoo Search History

Many people are keen to benefit from greater levels of privacy when they go online. However, the ease with which your search history can be accessed means that it can be difficult to enjoy privacy. One way around this is to delete your search history when using search engines such as Google or Yahoo.

 

There are many different things we may search for online during a typical day. Some of the information you are looking for may be of a personal nature, which means that you don’t want third parties finding out through your search history. So, it can be useful to know how you remove your search history on search engines.

 

Removing your search history on Google

 

Google, of course, is the major search engine used by people all around the world. If you want to remove your search history from Google, the process is pretty easy. It is worth bearing in mind that Google stores history for a long time – you can go back two years and look at your browsing history.

 

If you want to clear this history, all you need to do is go to the ‘My Activity’ page, which is where you will find your activities archived. The ‘My Activity’ page provides you with an option to clear some or even all of the history that has been logged, so you won’t have to worry about it being accessed by third parties.

 

Another thing you can do is toggle activity control on and off, which gives you more flexibility over the features that Google has access to. Although the search engine giant states that this could affect your overall user experience, it is an option for those who want to enjoy greater privacy and peace of mind.

 

Removing your search history on Yahoo

 

The process of removing your search history from Yahoo is also straightforward and simple. Again, it can help to protect your privacy and give you increased peace of mind. In order to manage your search history on Yahoo, you simply go to the Search History tool. Once there, you can view and manage the items in your history.

 

Within the Search History tool you can click on ‘older’ if you want to view history going back further than that already displayed. You can remove single searches simply by clicking on the trash icon next to the search. If you want to delete all of the browsing history, you can simply click on the ‘Clear History’ tab, and this will remove everything.

 

Another thing to bear in mind is that the search history tool is switched on by default, which then results in your search history being logged. However, you can switch this facility off (simply click on ‘turn history off’). The existing searches will remain in your search history unless you delete them. However, no new searches will go into the Search History unless you switch the tool back on again.

 

Maintaining browsing privacy

 

There is nothing suspect about wanting to delete or remove your search history these days. Many people share a computer and may not necessarily want others knowing the sites they have been on or what they have searched for. You may be planning a surprise, and don’t want a partner or friend getting wind of what you are doing. You may simply want the peace of mind that comes with protection your online information and browsing habits.

 

Fortunately, it is quick and easy to remove your search history, which means that you don’t have to do out of your way to benefit from enhanced privacy.

 

 

Category : Modern Technologies